self-care

That Time I Forgot My Phone and Left the House

Once upon time, in a land with no smartphones…

For the last 12+ hours, I got a glimpse of what my parents must have felt like in their 20s. I was on a date, overnight, and when I sat down on the train to his hometown, I noticed that I forgot to bring my phone. I always do, especially when I go on a date. This guy isn’t particularly new, in that my sister (and flatmate) knows where I am. Normally, I don’t get important messages or mails in the evening, so it’s mostly her asking me if I am still alive.

This is the first thing I was reassured of yesterday evening: I don’t get any important calls or messages between 7 pm and 8 am. 

Today, it is pretty much common sense that you need to have a name-brand smartphone from the age on that your parents decide you can have it. From then on, it’s bigger, better, faster, as with most material things in our society. If it’s new and hella expensive, we got to have it right away.

I didn’t have a smartphone growing up because we only had old Samsung phones with tiny keyboards at that time. (Early 2000s yay). No Iphones in sight, nowhere.

When I went to middle school, my sister and I got identical, ugly emergency cell phones, so we could text our mom or call her if something had happened. No texting friends or the like, though we did have a family computer where we could chat with friends for some time in the evening. Despite some weekends or winter breaks, we never used the computer more than half an hour a day. We were always doing something or we went outside.

Nowadays, and I can claim this without a hint of jealousy, 10-year-olds have “better” smartphones than me. And I don’t give a fuck.

I bought my phone for myself, so I could take some slightly less crappy pictures than before, had a working touchscreen and so I could have more than 2 apps on it without the cell breaking down all the time.

But I was made aware of the fact that I completely overuse it (and with it, Social Media) when I didn’t have it yesterday.

Some fun observations from the past 16 hours noone ever made:

  1. I don’t need my phone in most situations.
  2. I get a lot more reading done, which I enjoy much more than browsing and getting jealous on Instagram.
  3. People on the train and in the train stations are funny and excellent material for creative writing.
  4. I pay a lot more attention to my surroundings.
  5. Everyone is on their phone, even in company – seriously, why isn’t anyone talking to each other anymore?
  6. I have a lot better conversations and sleep without my phone and I am less stressed overall – not knowing exactly what time it is can be a relief.

 

And the most important thing of them all: I will do this more often and find other ways in which I can go back to the basics or simpler means, when it comes to functions my phone now is used for (alarm clock, note pad etc.)

I will keep you updated on this challenge (which is included somehow in my #101in1001 post  and we’ll see how it goes!

Tell me: What’s one function your phone has you think you cannot live without? What would you switch easily?

 

 

Leave a Reply

