self-care

101 Goals in 1001 days – A Journey Starting Right Now

I am great at making plans. And not following through with them. I am great at writing lists. And trashing instead of completing them. This time, I am really motivated to put myself out there and commit. Here we go:

Normally, I don’t like resolutions around New Year’s. It’s just weird to reset everything from 1st January onward, just because it’s a new year), write it down, fail, repeat. I read soo many articles yesterday and today about the 101 things in 1001 days (pretty self-explanatory, I guess) and I like really like the concept of having a fixed time.

But also having more than just the usual weeks/months.So I’m giving it a try, even though I was quite…let’s say inspired by other peoples’ posts and the last 10 items on the list were HARD, folks. I divide them into categories (ones that make sense to me, not necessarily to anyone else) because I am a control freak like that. (Everything is subject to change, of course).

The Loved Ones | Social Life | Acts of Kindness (19 goals)

  • Write birthday letters, instead of texting/e-mailing etc
  • Write a letter for my friend’s wedding
  • Make a birthday cake from scratch
  • Take my sister out to dinner
  • Take my dad out to dinner
  • Bake or cook something for my Dad every month
  • Leave 25 notes for strangers in random places
  • Stay away from Social Media for a week
  • Clean out Facebook friends
  • Buy coffee for someone
  • Donate to cancer research
  • 100 random acts of kindness (preferably for strangers)
  • Get an organ donor card
  • Donate to a local charity that is important to me
  • Volunteer at a local charity or organisation
  • Grow my hair healthily and donate to a charity
  • Suprise a loved one
  • Help someone reach their own goals
  • Host a dinner party/brunch
  • Get involved in a club at University

Health | Earth | Fitness (27 goals)

  • Run a half-marathon
  • Try a new sport
  • Take up ballet classes again
  • Try a pole fitness class
  • Eat a vegan meal every day for 6 months
  • Go hiking
  • Do a bike tour from Frankfurt to Mainz
  • Get a manicure
  • Get a massage
  • Do something for myself, by myself, every day
  • Learn how to do a handstand
  • Don’t complain for a week
  • Turn off your phone between 10 pm and 8 am
  • Go fruit-picking
  • Go to every farmer’s market in town
  • Have a picnic
  • Buy only cruelty-free make-up products
  • Go ice-skating
  • Don’t drink soda
  • Drink a smoothie
  • Eat chocolate-dipped strawberries
  • Learn how to do a middle split
  • Go horse-riding
  • Go swimming in a lake/in the sea
  • Go swimming once a week in the summer
  • Eat at 5 vegan places in the area
  • Unplug for one day each week

Arts | Skills | Travel (30 goals)

  • Become fluent in French
  • Learn Spanish on a B2 level
  • Read 100 books
  • Read everything by Stephen King
  • Visit every major city in my county
  • Learn to play the guitar
  • Visit 5 places from my childhood
  • See a ballet
  • Visit 10 museums, 5  of them in my hometown
  • Write a 101 word story
  • See a musical
  • See 25 plays
  • Take one picture every day
  • Watch AHS Season 5
  • Read all of Shakespeare’s plays
  • Attend the following sports events: Football/Basketball/Volleyball
  • Sing Karaoke
  • Go to an open air cinema/theatre play/concert
  • Visit a theatre festival
  • Watch all the Disney classics
  • Learn a new skill
  • Write a play
  • Create a photo album for 2017,18,19
  • Go abroad
  • Go to the book fair in town in 2017,18,19
  • Go to a Halloween party
  • Watch 100 iconic movies
  • Create a travel bucket list
  • Read a book series that is longer than a trilogy
  • Do 10 touristy things in my hometown

 

Academic | Professional | Personal Finance (15 goals)

  • Save 2500 euros for my semester abroad
  • Do a No-Spend week
  • Do a No-Spend month
  •  Write (and try to publish) a short stories collection
  • Complete my BA degree
  • Complete an online course
  • Save all my loose change (1ct to 50cts)
  • Save ten euros for retirement each month  This has been going really well, you should try it, it’s actually super-easy, even for a broke college student 😉
  • Get a 1.0 in a class (That’s like an A+ in Germany.)
  • Don’t buy anything new for a month
  • Get accepted into my Master’s program
  • Make a monthly budget and stick to it
  • Go to a professional conference
  • Get paid for freelance writing at least once
  • Read the news daily

And here comes the most challenging category of them all…

Outside of my comfort zone | Conquering my fears (9 goals)

  • Visit my grandfather’s grave each month
  • See a movie by myself
  • Take part in a Poetry Slam
  • Go to work without wearing make-up
  • Visit someone/volunteer in a hospital
  • Do a weekly/monthly goal list and finish them
  • Donate, sell or get rid of 101 things
  • Give the following things a try: Tofu/Yoga/Meditation
  • Try whiskey

 

I will, of course, post about my progress here. My finishing line will be 14th December, 2019, as I started yesterday.

 

 

What goals would you like to reach? Would you try something like this? Do you want to join me with any of those points?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

